World Heritage

08.07.2020 - Article

The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, known as the World Heritage Convention, was adopted in 1972. To date it has been ratified by 193 states. It provides for a list of selected cultural and natural heritage sites that require protection due to their exceptional universal value.

Every year, an intergovernmental committee set up by UNESCO assesses the new sites to be included on the list. The World Heritage Centre – the permanent secretariat of the World Heritage Convention – is responsible for implementing the committee’s decisions.

World Heritage Sites in Germany

UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1996
Luther Memorials in Wittenberg© DZT / Jochen Keute

The list currently comprises 1,154 sites in 167 countries (as of May 2022). Fifty-one of these sites are located in Germany, including Weimar, home to artists, musicians and writers such as Goethe and Schiller and the spectactular natural scenery of the Ancient Beech Forests .

Information on the German Commission for UNESCO

List of German World Heritage Sites

Information on the World Heritage Centre

Top of page