The role of Member States

08.07.2020 - Article

Member States’ Permanent Delegations

Member States’ Permanent Delegations represent and incorporate the positions of their countries’ governments in UNESCO’s work and jointly agree the organization’s programme and budget. Furthermore, they inform their governments of ongoing developments and priorities within UNESCO.

Coordination in Germany

The Federal Foreign Office has lead responsibility for UNESCO affairs within the German Government. The Federal Foreign Office coordinates Germany’s contribution to UNESCO’s work with the relevant departments.

National UNESCO Commissions

UNESCO is the only UN specialised agency that budgets for the establishment of National Commissions in Member States. Member States are instructed to provide for their national institutions to cooperate with UNESCO in the fields of education, science and culture. National Commissions act as interfaces between government, civil society and UNESCO.

The German Commission for UNESCO

German Commission for UNESCO - Annual General Meeting
German Commission for UNESCO - Annual General Meeting© German Commission for UNESCO

In Germany, the German Commission for UNESCO (DUK) advises the Federal Government on its involvement in UNESCO. The DUK contributes the expertise of German organizations, institutes and experts to intergovernmental cooperation. It is headquartered in Bonn.

Top of page